The owl, for all his feathers, was a-cold

That’s John Keats, “The Eve of St. Agnes.”  And I know that any owl in my neighborhood is cold tonight.  Weather service said last night that it would hit 10 degrees tonight.  Now they’re saying 5 degrees.  Somebody stole five of our degrees.  Windy, too.

I went to see Second City’s “Holiday Revue” last night at Fayetteville’s Walton Arts Center.  Great show overall, with very few low spots.  The last show I had seen there was the Blue Man Group, so Second City was following a great act.  I like watching improv comedy, but it sometimes makes me squirm in my chair thinking someone is going to go blank.  These people were never in danger of running out of ideas.  Some of the physical comedy was brilliant, such as one lady’s portrayal of a blowup doll, and one man’s clue-giving during a kind of “charades” game.  The only “thud” for me — and, I suspect, for some others in the audience — came during a tag-team improv segment.  One of the actresses was lying on the floor, having been a bearskin rug or some such, and was talking to an actor that she pictured as being tied up standing up on a railroad track.  The other actress “tagged” her and took her position on the floor, then dragged herself toward the man saying, “Don’t be afraid!  Princess Paraplegia will save you!”  It just so happens that I work with people with disabilities, and I had already been thinking about how people using wheelchairs could be seated at a show like this.  She was laughing when she said it and I figure she felt a little bit “bad” about it but thought it was just too funny to skip.  But I can’t help hoping that that little tug on her conscience will be enough to steer her away from similar jokes in the future. 

She was a very funny lady, and she sounded like one of us most of the time.

About morticity

About to receive my Master's Degree in Vocational Rehabilitation Counseling from the University of Arkansas. Looking for my first real job in the field.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

